Daily Music Dose: TOI


Yes, because music is my eternal drug I’m posting another music recommendation like we used to do back in the days.

If you seek a remedy for all those pop punk and rnb plague, well just like me, you might want to check the band TOI.

Composed of vocalist Pauline Diaz, guitarist Pat Tirano and visual artist Mei Tayengco, this band is possibly the best Pinoy trip hop has ever produced. For a listener population who’s demographic is mainly dominated by alt rock and pop fans, Philippines is gradually opening to a different type of music. After all this breed of music spawned from those mainstream genres. To bridge the new sound and old music listener, that is where TOI comes in.

Playful sounds that produces imagery that is what I seek most in music. And TOI has fulfilled that with one song, Run. Music appreciation sometimes requires mood, when my insomnia begins to attack, Jack is the song that calms me to sleep. Burden is also painful but lovely song.

TOI is a mix of a little bit of everything. It’s like a music experiment done perfect you wont even notice that they’re just toi-ing with sounds.

I have a strictly hardcore rock and 80’s preference. I am proud of myself for embracing a modern sound. This sound isnt borrowed from a distant era. Yeah, this topic would probably need to be on another post.

While you’re at it, here’s what I was trying to talk about.

http://soundcloud.com/toikingdom/comet-demo

And if you like what you hear, which I’m sure you do. I suggest you go here.

And follow them here.

Leave a Reply

